2023 Presidential Ph.D. Fellows announced at Penn

The Fellows come from the nine schools at Penn that offer Ph.D. programs, and will receive a three-year fellowship, including funds to support their research.

Locust Walk in autumn.

President Liz Magill, Provost John L. Jackson Jr., and Vice Provost for Education Karen Detlefsen today announced the 2023 Presidential Ph.D. Fellows.

Drawn from the incoming class of Ph.D. students, this year’s 15 Presidential Fellows come from all nine schools at Penn that offer Ph.D. programs. Each Fellow receives a three-year fellowship, including a 12-month stipend, tuition, fees, Penn Student Insurance coverage, and research funds.

“Presidential Ph.D. Fellows show exceptional promise in research and teaching that make a difference,” said Magill. “We are excited to welcome and proud to support this year’s cohort. They and all Presidential Ph.D. Fellows make Penn and our community that much more insightful, dynamic, and broadly excellent.”

The 2023 Presidential Ph.D. Fellows are:

Kallahan Brown, Annenberg School for Communication

Júlio César de Melo do Nascimento, School of Arts & Sciences

Rance Graham-Bailey, Weitzman School of Design

Kamryn Griffith, School of Arts & Sciences

Moses Hinton, Perelman School of Medicine

Sandhya Rani Jha, School of Social Policy and Practice

Wesley Mark Lincoln, School of Arts & Sciences

Ivana Marshall, Graduate School of Education

Alex Martinez Lopez, Perelman School of Medicine

Saiido Noor, Perelman School of Medicine

Oreva Hanniel Omodior, School of Engineering and Applied Science

Levia Sutton, School of Nursing

Robel Tesfay, Wharton School

De’Vonte Tinsley, School of Arts & Sciences

Ian Yannuzzi, Perelman School of Medicine